RNAS Yeovilton near Yeovil, Somerset, England was the home base for all Sea Vixen Squadrons when disembarked from their parent Aircraft Carrier. The village of Yeovilton sits nestled in the South West Pocket of the photo. (Click to enlarge).
Within Yeovilton village is the Church of St Bartholomew where some of our lost Sea Vixen Crewmen rest. The complete Fleet Air Arm Roll of Honour rests within the church. Please note the visiting times and contacts as per their website.
RNAS Yeovilton also is the home of the Fleet Air Arm Museum
11/11/11 The Archbishop of Canterbury officiated at a memorial service at "St Barts" for our lost FAA Airmen.
After WW2 RNAS Yeovilton became the main demobilisation base for the RN. Many of the men worked refurbishing the runways while they waited for their release from service. In 1952 RNAS Yeovilton became the shore base for the Fleet Air Arm's all weather fighters. The runways were extended in 1952 and 1957 to accommodate the larger and faster jet fighters. Sea Venoms and Sea Vixens were the current types. It became the HQ of FONAC (Flag Officer Naval Air Command) and FOFT (Flag officer Flying Training). During the 1960s the RN school of fighter direction moved to Yeovilton. FRADU operated various types of aircraft for the fighter controllers under training. After the Sea Vixen, Phantom F4k's operated until the FAA affected by defence cuts in 1972 moved to RAF Leuchars in Fife until Tail Hooking Carrier Operations ceased in December 1978.